top of page
  • Writer's pictureBaptiste Brun

DEPARTURE FOR A GREAT TRIP

Updated: May 16, 2018

The adventure begins this Wednesday, April 11, 2018 ... Departure for a unique experience! An internship of 5 months in Vietnam!

9:00 a.m.: Thanks to the strikes that immobilize French trains, my adventure begins in BlaBlaCar. Leaving from Chinon, my parents take me to Bourgueil, a meeting place for carpooling. The goodbyes were brief and accompanied by a heavy heart!


9:30 a.m.: I met Camille, the carpool driver. A young mother of 29, waiting for her second child. Short stop at Ikea Tours, to recover the second carpooler, Nadia, a 48-year-old active. Now we were full, the Skoda Octavia was able to take the direction: Porte de Versailles in Paris. The trip was friendly and animated by various topics of conversation.


1:00 p.m.: Arrival in Paris, a short stop at David's house, the friend Cht'i! As a self-respecting northerner, I had the right to a last good French meal, chopped steak with its sweet potato fries! A delight...


2:00 p.m.: Direction Nanterre, at the uncle and aunt where I spent a quiet afternoon to rest and make the final preparations.


6:00 p.m.: Last straight line, Paris-Charles de Gaulle airport.


8:30 p.m.: Registration process completed: Protected checked baggage, checked and hand baggages registered, checked visa and boarding tickets recovered. I am lightened to see my checked baggage behind the check-in counter.


8:45 p.m.: Last goodbye with aunt and uncle, before passing the customs security doors.


9:10 p.m.: Customs control completed, installation in boarding lounge. My plane is already there! This is an opportunity for me to take a picture of this mastodon that will take me from Paris to Dubai. The A380 is the largest civil airliner! At full load, it's a bird of 560 tons to fly! I enclose the photo below:

Having a little time before boarding, I take the opportunity to talk with my sisters.


9:30 p.m.: It's good, it's time to board the flight EK076!


9:45 p.m.: I was welcomed and kindly installed aboard the A380-800, by the air hostesses from Emirates airline. At this moment, I am so impatient to take off. It's my first flight on a commercial line! I have already had the opportunity to fly aboard a Robin, but never an airliner. It's also my first real trip outside of France. This adventure promises to be rich in the first times!


10:15 p.m.: Lift-off !!! Bye Bye Paris! If all goes well, we'll see you in 5 months! Now, we put the throttle in the direction of Dubai. I love these sensations: taking off and climbing up to cruising altitude. The view is magnificent, both during the climb phase with the lights of the cities and the countryside at night, or when we have reached cruising altitude, above the clouds, thousands of feet above the ground.


Having a little less than 7 hours of flight and therefore a little time in front of me, I will be able to explain the rest of the program! As you understand, before landing in Hanoi in Vietnam, I make a stopover in Dubai! As I stop, I must stop for a long time! I preferred to swap my 3 hours of initial stopover, against 21 hours, just to have time to visit the city. Check in at 6:35 a.m. Dubai local time and departure at 3:30 a.m. the next day.



For the rest of the flight, I'm going to watch a movie, eating the delicious meal of Emirates that I put you in picture below. And we'll meet again tomorrow morning, before landing!




See you tomorrow !

And I wish you a good night from the clouds!


47 views0 comments
bottom of page